Welcome! If this is your first visit, you will need to register to participate.

DO NOT use symbols in usernames. Doing so will result in an inability to sign in & post!

If you cannot sign in or post, please visit our vBulletin Talk section for answers to vBulletin related FAQs.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Hello from Pittsburgh, PA

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hello from Pittsburgh, PA

I thoroughly enjoy this forum, and although I'm relatively new and this is my first post, I've gained a well-full of knowledge and suggestions from the many topics. So, I thought I'd use the foyer to introduce myself.

I won't go into detail about my drumming history, except to say that I've been playing since 1978, playing in various concert, High School Marching and College Marching bands. My passion is playing in rock, country and praise/worship bands, although I'm not currently active.

Last March I was looking to get a TD-15KV because I liked its Hi-Hat setup vs. the TD-15K's. What I did instead was to buy the TD-15K and mount the Hi-Hat in the middle between the two high toms. I use it for a splash cymbal or for special effects. Then I also purchased a Zildjian gen-16 box set with the 13" Hi-hats, etc. I'm enjoying this setup.

A couple weeks ago I purchased a SPD-SX. I'm looking to sample music into it and then play along with it; sort of like doing a one-man-band deal (without the bass drum strapped to my back and cymbals attached at my knees, while playing an accordian). Music created in Acoustica's Mixcraft 6, transferrs nicely in .WAV format, to the SPD-SX. Via MIDI, I intend to connect the TD-15K module into the SPD-SX also and see what fun I can create. Does anyone else have any experience with this? I'd be interested in learning more.

I'll work on my avatar and also posting pictures of my setup if anyone's interested.

Enjoy your day everyone!