Welcome! If this is your first visit, you will need to register to participate.

DO NOT use symbols in usernames. Doing so will result in an inability to sign in & post!

If you cannot sign in or post, please visit our Forum Talk section for answers to frequently asked questions.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Just another freakin idiot who really shouldn't be drumming...but I am!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Just another freakin idiot who really shouldn't be drumming...but I am!

Hello, denizens of the rhythmic world! I've had exactly zero drum lessons, but I've been playing music for over 30 years (guitar mostly) and recording my horribly-amateurish creations since I bought my first 4-track back around 1986. I graduated to a Roland W30 sampling keyboard and then used that 12-bit wonder to create slightly less ****ty tracks around 1989. Incrementally my equipment got better and my songs became a little less shifty (but they never got good). Fast-forward to two weeks ago: I had a recording studio built into my garage and, after years of finger drumming on keyboards, I got myself a Roland TD-15. It's a major leap forward and my still-****ty songs at least are starting to sound like full-on productions. So here I am, fumbling my way through drumming and trying to get the best possible sounds out of my kit. To that end, I don't use its internal sounds but am using Addictive Drums (inside Logic X). Looks like Addictive Drum hi hats only have open/closed positions and that's nagging at me. It doesn't sound real enough. So I'm here to find out if getting more levels of aftertouch data are available within AD and if not, I'm considering Superior Drummer. And of course, learn more about vdrums and share what I've learned so far. Look forward to interacting with y'all!