Welcome! If this is your first visit, you will need to register to participate.

DO NOT use symbols in usernames. Doing so will result in an inability to sign in & post!

If you cannot sign in or post, please visit our vBulletin Talk section for answers to vBulletin related FAQs.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

hi - new to drums and vdrums!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• hi - new to drums and vdrums!

hi,

I was fortunate to purchase a used TD-12 kit today for an awesome discount. It was way more than I wanted to spend (I was originally looking for $400-800 for used entry-level Roland ones), but I could turn around and resell it on eBay for a small profit at least if it didn't work out

I'm a drum beginner (~100 hours of practice over the past few months), but have been playing guitar pretty seriously since I was six, and have been fortunate to be surrounded by and have worked with some pretty good drummers and have a decent feel for syncopation, polyrhythm, reading complex rhythms, etc. (just not with more than my two hands yet!). I'm one of those people who make fun of drummers with electronic kits (and probably won't stop), but I see the virtue in having one stored away secretly in the closet that you don't admit to having.

I jumped in the electronic drum boat after realizing that I'd be able to get a lot more time in when it is in my room and can play whenever I want instead of having to make a trip down to my band's practice space and stare at the ugly rat infested environs. I kind of want it to simulate the feel of an acoustic kit as much as possible. It's a shame Roland doesn't make a cheaper kit with the "real" hihats, large mesh snare and mesh kick drum sensor (like the TD-12 or TD-20 versions), because that's all I really care about... the rest can be cheap parts.

So, my questions