Welcome! If this is your first visit, you will need to register to participate.

DO NOT use symbols in usernames. Doing so will result in an inability to sign in & post!

If you cannot sign in or post, please visit our vBulletin Talk section for answers to vBulletin related FAQs.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

New to Electronic Drumming

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New to Electronic Drumming

Hey everyone, I'm Steve. I've been dabbling with music for the past few years and am interested in getting an electronic drum set to record and mess around with. I am by no means a professional drummer. I have been researching the drums for the past few days and have narrowed myself down to a few kits, but still would appreciate some help in understanding more.

I've only sat down in front of an electronic drum set once. It was a Roland TD-20.....needless to say I didn't want to get up. I'm very familiar with how an acoustic drum set works, performs and can sound. Now unfortunately, I cannot afford the TD-20. In fact, I can't even afford the TD-9.

I'm trying to get a nice kit for under $1000. My immediate goal is to get something expandable. I understand I can't afford a super nice kit, but would like to grow with time. My main concern is having a kit that is as functional as a real set. Let me be more specific, I'd like a brain that is capable of being as functional as a real set. I understand I may need to upgrade my pads over time.

Would it make more sense to piece a set together, or to buy a set and then upgrade? I've been looking at the Alesis DM5 Pro kit for $599 because it already has all mesh pads, but I'm seeing a lot of complaints that the hihat doesn't function as nicely as it could and that the cymbals don't choke. I've also seen the Yamaha DTXpress IV for $999 and the Roland TD-3SW for $995.

Can anybody offer some suggestions?

I've said most of this before, so apologies to those who have seen it prevoiusly: