Welcome! If this is your first visit, you will need to register to participate.

DO NOT use symbols in usernames. Doing so will result in an inability to sign in & post!

If you cannot sign in or post, please visit our Forum Talk section for answers to frequently asked questions.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Hello, all. Greetings from Maryland!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hello, all. Greetings from Maryland!

Hello everyone, just wanted to introduce myself. I'm Bob, and I've been drumming off and on since I was 14 (some 30 years ago), but not seriously for the last decade or so.

For various reasons, I've decided to take up drumming again as a hobby. I had resolved to buy a new acoustic set, but couldn't get around the noise issues. There's just no way to practice on acoustics when my wife or kids are home. I was thinking about remodeling my downstairs office/man-cave, but that would have included some fairly expensive soundproofing and other changes that were too painful to contemplate.

I had purchased Thomas Lang's second DVD a year or so ago, and after watching it again recently, was quite impressed with what he could do on his Roland kit. That led me to the Roland website, and from there, I did some additional research that led me to this forum. I've been reading every day for the last couple of months as a non-member in order to learn more about the capabilities of e-drums and e-drumming in general. A bit of fooling around on a TD-20K at a local Guitar Center convinced me that e-drums were going to be the best fit for my needs.

I must say I'm very impressed with what many members here have been able to do with their setups; I'm also amazed at the incredible amount of DIY that goes on here. You just don't see that on any of the other forums I follow (e.g., cyclingforum.com and avsforum.com).