Welcome! If this is your first visit, you will need to register to participate.

DO NOT use symbols in usernames. Doing so will result in an inability to sign in & post!

If you cannot sign in or post, please visit our Forum Talk section for answers to frequently asked questions.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Gday... newbie...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Gday... newbie...

Hey all,

I think merely signing up to this forum caused a disturbance in the force that my credit card felt from across the room, but aaaaanyway

I've been an on-off guitarist. Primarily interested in metal, but also electronic music. I'm thinking of getting an electronic kit, cos I think it would improve my rhythm, and it just looks like too much fun bashing away I still live with the olds, and my brother in the room next door gets migraines, and an accoustic kit wouldn't fit in my current car (2 dr coupe), so electronic is pretty much it for now. Everyone I know says no metal local bands will play with an electronic drummer, and may as well use a drum machine, but I'm hoping to give them reason to rethink that (might as well aim high...).

Gene Hoglan, Portnoy, and some of the swedith death/black metal drummers would be my influence, so I guess decent technique will be a must. I've got a lot to learn. I've never hit a drum in my life, and it's interesting trying to learn the E drum terms as well as the generic drumming terms at once.