Welcome! If this is your first visit, you will need to register to participate.

DO NOT use symbols in usernames. Doing so will result in an inability to sign in & post!

If you cannot sign in or post, please visit our Forum Talk section for answers to frequently asked questions.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

E-Drum Perception

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• E-Drum Perception

First let me preface this post with my background. I have been playing percussion for over 15 years, and drum set for around 6 years. Up until about a year ago, I had only dealt strictly with acoustic drums. My journey began into the world of electronics by starting out with triggering my bass drums.

In the past few months, I have been struggling with properly micing my acoustic drums. There always seems to be something off with the sound. Too boomy, too much resonance, too much bleed from other instruments, etc. I started looking into compressors, limiters, and all those expensive things and got very frustrated. Last weekend I added internal triggers to my acoustic drums (I am sticking with standard metal cymbals). The batter and resonant heads are both muted by Remo Muffls. They trigger quite well, but I have now sacrificed my entire acoustic sound. The raw drums sound something similar to cardboard. I’ve essentially made myself a very over-weight electronic kit, when it all boils down. This has led me to an internal conflict, one that I have been trying to find the answer to.