Announcement

Collapse

Foyer Posting Guidelines

INTRODUCTIONS ONLY! DO NOT POST PRODUCT OR TECHNICAL QUESTIONS!
See more
See less

Die-hard acoustic drummer within an inch of his life!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Die-hard acoustic drummer within an inch of his life!

Hi guys. So here's my story (I'll keep it as brief as possible). I've been playing acoustic drums for 10 years now and recently moved into an apartment Because of noise-rules in the apartment block I can now only rehearse when the band rehearses in our practice space 15 miles away. So I went out to buy a cheap electronic kit to practice on at home. When I saw the options available I was amazed at the possibilities electronic drums bring to the drummers table.

Through a lot of persuasion from the salesman I have just put a deposit on a Roland V-Drums TD6KX. I still love the sound of my acoustic kit and it will always be the kit I use in the band but I've been thinking about expanding the sounds of the acoustic kit by adding a couple vdrum pads to it. I've done quite a bit of searching but can't find anyone who has done this. Are there any drawbacks? Any crosstalk from acoustic drum to electronic? Or any logistical issues?

Also, on a couple of my bands studio tracks we added some programmed effects like drum machine loops and strings. Is there a way to trigger these sounds with the TD6KX?

Sorry about the long-winded introduction! From what I've seen you're all very knowledgeable and approachable so looking forward to chatting to you in the future!

Sln.

welcome, i used to play with a couple of (rubber)
    pd pads and a sampler, (pearl quad pad for a while)
    with my a-kit, never any problems/crosstalk,
    i can imagine with a mesh head there could be some
    problems with bass over the monitor and "false" triggering,
    but i never played with mesh head pads and an a-kit.

if it was now, i'd use a good laptop and soft-sampler