Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Late introduction

Hello,

I have been around here for a bit, but I don't think I've ever introduced myself. My name is Paul. I am new to drums. I've been playing bass for a couple churches through the years and a small jazz band at my church's music school. My son was the drummer and he recently went to college, so I decided that I would try to learn and take his place. I recently acquired a Td-10 from my church and have been working at getting it set up. Elbow surgery a few weeks ago has put my learning into a holding pattern, but hopefully I can get back to it in a month or so. I am going to try to be somewhat active here, although my inexperience does not allow me to offer much. See you around the forums.

hi there! i'm a bass player, too.

perhaps you can work on your pedals while your elbow heals.
    New kit in progress: 3 Pintech 10 inch Concertcast Dual Zone pads, Pintech PC10 (hi-hat)
    Yamaha PCY100 on the way

Comment

I actually thought about that. I guess maybe I should actually do it.

Comment

Welcome to the forum. I broke my elbow in March and had to have surgery and now I have a titanium plate and screws that allowed the broken pieces to heal. I finished physical therapy in mid July. I was not allowed to play for a while and when I was allowed, I could not strike with my left so I played cross stick and worked on my feet. I liked playing bosa nova beats which was fun. I'm still working on stick control with my left. It takes time to get your strength back.

Below is a before and after.

Good luck with your recovery.
        Last edited by jimorlando; 09-14-17, 09:59 AM.
        Equipment: TD-30KV, DW9000 hardware, ROC-N-SOC Throne, Behringer ULTRATONE K3000FX Amp, JBL EON 615 Powered Speaker. 1965 Ludwig Super Classic. Black diamond pearl. Zildjian K Custom Dark cymbals, DW 7000 hardware, DW 9000 kick pedal.

Comment