Welcome! If this is your first visit, you will need to register to participate.

DO NOT use symbols in usernames. Doing so will result in an inability to sign in & post!

If you cannot sign in or post, please visit our Forum Talk section for answers to frequently asked questions.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Another newbie... and "rarely have I been so wrong!"

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Another newbie... and "rarely have I been so wrong!"

Hello everyone, another newbie checking in....

As a complete drumming beginner I recently bought a TD-4K (poverty spec!) which I figured would more than exceed my needs. I have to say right off the bat that this forum was amazingly helpful in the run up to buying V-drums - how did we ever research anything in the "good old days" before online forums/reviews eh?

As a responsible family member I visited my local music shop first to hit a few pads and kick the bass on a TD-11K to see how loud it would be, all in all, not too bad I thought, especially since the kit will be set up in the attic anyway. "You can play these kits at night and no-one would know" said the cheerful salesman..... well he obviously hasn't tried because rarely have I been so wrong!

With the vibration through the rack you can hear everything, even two floors down, With the sensitivity turned up and barely tickling the pads you can still hear the tapping in every room of the house. Not good.

So here I am on day 4 of my drumming path already considering an upgrade to an all mesh kit, or building a tennis ball riser ... not exactly what I had envisioned, but I'm happy to be here anyway.

Rich.

Wow mate. Have you got paper thin walls. OK the kick is a problem and there are threads here that tell you how to construct a tennis ball platform. As for the walls, well insulation blocks spring to mind. Anyway, what do i know. Im just an old git whos here cause the pubs shut.

Comment