Welcome! If this is your first visit, you will need to register to participate.

DO NOT use symbols in usernames. Doing so will result in an inability to sign in & post!

If you cannot sign in or post, please visit our Forum Talk section for answers to frequently asked questions.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Here I go again

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Here I go again

Hi everybody,
    I'm stepping back into the E-drum world again a long time after being an owner of the old Simmons SDS-v drums (which I still have).

I've been a drummer for around 45 years (I'm 50).
    I've had a fairly bad taste about non acoustic drums for a very long time and I have a general distrust of the espoused dynamics of modern pads and modules, but I'm now, very willing to keep an open mind to new drum technologies because I think their time has finally fully arrived.

I want to build my own custom acoustic conversion, and I hope I can build a very enjoyable setup.
    I'm trying to research everything from triggers to heads and modules that will all work together, but it's a very complex undertaking. I think I'll do okay

My first plan is to build up some pads from a used Pearl Rhythm Traveller set I got last week. I'm thinking of picking up some double triggers from QuartsPercussions and probably put it together with a cake pan build. The cake pans because I can have the rim sensor in the middle of the pan so it picks up evenly all around. Since I'm unfamiliar with trigger builds, I don't know if this is important, but I want consistency. If I can make a rim trigger consistent at least around the front of the rim, I would be happy to entertain simpler concepts.

Nexxt will be a module, and it will probably be a Yamaha 502, because of the price. I'm hoping to get this thing built to trigger VSTs mostly, but again, I 'm very new to this and the learning curve might be daunting.