First impressions of live TD20 - Pro Band

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• First impressions of live TD20 - Pro Band

Ive been gigging the TD20 for about 3 months now at various size venues and various PA / Monitoring setups. Coming from a fairly straightforward top-end Starclassic setup ive observed the following:
    1. Setup time takes a LOT longer so I have to allow at least 30 minutes more at the venue. Im getting this down each time I setup and now have a fairly set routine.
    2. Monitoring is ALL, there has been a couple of times monitoring has been hopeless and insufficient. I play with a click most of the time and when I have a good sidefill its a lot more comfortable experience. If I dont its very stressful. It defo needs at least a good 15" Sub and 12/15" full range setup. We have built this into our stage spec now for all future shows
    3. Still having issues with hearing hi hat / Ride and Cymbals compared to the rest of the kit. Im finding these difficult to get used to compared to decent acoustic versions. Im even considering going back if I cant get an authentic feel. I would love some insights on what others have done to improve this side of the kit.
    4. I struggle with getting authentic snare sound on fast rolls , still sounds a bit machine gunny at times
    4. Overall WHAT a sound! Our Singer moves to the kit for a couple of numbers and i go out front, and last night we had almost the perfect monitoring mix on the Kits and on the stage wedges. The sound was EPIC!

Thanks
    Last edited by 10cclo; 11-18-18, 02:31 PM.

Trouble with the td20 is it does machine gun. It is quite old technology now. What about swapping it out for a td30. Still machine guns a bit but better than the 20. Of course you could spend a lot more and get a mimic or td50. Depends on what you want. I know I wouldn’t want to play live with a td30 never mind a td20.