Proper usage of Line vs Mic input on a stage monitor

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Proper usage of Line vs Mic input on a stage monitor

Sorry in advance for a very basic question but I am relatively new to e-drums. I have been having trouble getting adequate volume and decent sound out of my setup: DTX562 main out via TRS cable to a Yamaha DXR10 using the Line1 input, as indicated in the DXR manual. I had to crank the DTX and DXR volume way up to get a moderate sound volume and the sounds were muddy. Could hardly hear the cymbals. No adjustments to the rudimentary DSP on the monitor helped. So I tried throwing the Line/Mic switch to Mic and everything improved---much more headroom on the volume and clearer sounds all around.

My question: Am I potentially harming the monitor or module by using this input? Will I overdrive the monitor in some way? I am hearing what sounds like a ground hum at low volume when not playing drums or music... Did not hear this with Line input, maybe because I couldn't hear much of anything!
    Last edited by RIneuron; 06-25-18, 11:41 AM.

You should have plenty of volume with that speaker. Are you sure you are outputting the right level from the module? I'm not familiar with it so in addition to the volume knob, is there an option in the software to adjust output? It sounds like your not outputting enough level from the module. If you are sending line level and set to mic, it should actually distort the sound though it would be louder. As long as you're not distorted, no harm done. Here's a decent little article explaining it, http://www.shure.com/americas/suppor...t-do-they-mean