Recording E-Drums

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Recording E-Drums

Hi All. I am new to the site. I have been recording music on a computer using Sony Acid Pro for a couple of years. I generally record guitars and keyboards. I just bought a set of Roland TD9 drums & love them. I want to now record on Acid Pro. I record into a pre-amp (not sure what model). I was told to record using stereo audio cables, but when I tried this it did not work. I am able to record with only one cable in mono. My question is, for recording drums, is there any big difference in sound quality between recording in mono or stereo? I usually record my guitar in mono and it seems fine.

I appreciate any input on this! Thanks

There will be a variety of opinions in here.

Are you simply recording the drums via some kind of master out where all the mixing is done on the module? In which case, I would hate mono. Yes, drum panning too wide isn't a good thing but having everything plopped in there in one channel isn't something that's pleasing to my years.

What we do is record each component of the drum seperately, in mono, then mix accordingly.

www.myspace.com/rubberuniverse
    TD-12, DTX502, SD1000, EZDrummer, Diamond Drum 12" snare, S1000 toms/cymbals/kick, PCY10/100/135/155, CY-5/14, Hart Ride, Hart Acupad 8" kick, Epedal Pro II, Concept 1 pads/cymbals, SD1000 & Roland V Sessions racks, PD-7, Kit Toy 10" splash, DMPad ride, SamplePad, PerformancePad Pro

Comment

Thanks Grog. I am recording into Acid Pro. Once all of my tracks are recorded I can mix and pan, etc. So I can pan the drums but because it is in momo, ALL of the drum sounds pan togetehr. I can't separate the snare from the bass, cymbals, etc. I am thinking that, in a live or studio environment, all the drum sounds are generally grouped togetehr anyway so this should be OK...?

Comment