Welcome! If this is your first visit, you will need to register to participate.

DO NOT use symbols in usernames. Doing so will result in an inability to sign in & post!

If you cannot sign in or post, please visit our Forum Talk section for answers to frequently asked questions.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Recording midi in the PC

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Recording midi in the PC

I'm pretty new to this recording thing. I did some reading around the forum. I have the Yamaha UX16 USB-midi cable (connected to my midi out port on my vdrums) and Reaper. I tried to record some sounds with Reaper but it didn't seem to be picking up any audio at all. I've set it to pick up Midi Inputs -> All Channels. I also checked my audio settings and Midi's mute setting is unchecked.

Am I missing out something... hardware or software-wise?

MIDI doesn't transmit audio. It just records the strokes. You need to play back the MIDI through your drum module or some sort of plugin.
    sigpic

Comment

Thanks for the quick reply!
      I'm only using a HD-1 at the moment so I guess the module option is out.
      Does plugin mean a software like the Drumkit from Hell? Are their any other less pricey options around?

Comment

When you hit a pad on your HD-1, a "MIDI Note" is transmitted and sent out via the MIDI Out port on the unit. If you connect the MIDI out port to something with a MIDI Inport that contains sounds , you will hear the sound mapped to that corresponding note.

In this case, your computer acts as the device that contains sounds and receives the MIDI messages. Different software packages contain different sounds (BFD, EZ Drummer, etc). All that happens on the computer is that the programs sees the incoming MIDI note, and checks that against what sound is assigned to that MIDI note.