Welcome! If this is your first visit, you will need to register to participate.

DO NOT use symbols in usernames. Doing so will result in an inability to sign in & post!

If you cannot sign in or post, please visit our vBulletin Talk section for answers to vBulletin related FAQs.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Bass Drum Sound Which Will CUT

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Bass Drum Sound Which Will CUT

Newbie here, first post.
    I have a bunch of questions about various things, but I'll start with this one since it's one of the bigger issues at hand for me right now.
    I have a TD6 kit, and I've been loving it. I've only had it a couple months now, but I've already started recording tons of songs/song ideas with this thing using my Powerbook G4 and Garageband. The only problem I'm having right now is that I'm recording mostly Metal stuff, and once I start layering guitars, my bass drum sounds are getting buried in the mix. I'm recording the drums by using the 1/4 outs, and I'm recording them stereo onto one track. So if I layer tracks and/or bring up the volume of the kit, I start losing guitars in the mix, while getting really loud overall kit sounds. What bass drum sounds are everyone using for recording this way, and what volume levels are you using as well? Seems like I could probably just crank the bass drum volume, but I really have no reference for what level will work once the sounds are recorded and guitars are being layered over top of them. The trial and error method I've been using is becoming quite frustrating because I'm laying down good tracks only to have to redo them because the bass drum doesn't cut through guitars. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

You may want to look into recording the MIDI output from your TD6 and use that to create separate audio tracks for bass drum, snare, hats, etc.. I have Garage Band, but I don't use it, so I won't be able to explain how to do it.