I need some critics

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I need some critics

Can you guys check out these recordings and give me some feedback. I am very new to recording and do not have much equipment. To give some background before you go after the most apparent error's, these recordings were done live and at full volume in my room with a mackie cr1604 mixer feeding into my pc and recording only one stereo track in a program called "goldwave". I am using a crappy, built in to the motherboard, standard sound card. Goldwave is a nice FREE piece of software that lets me edit, record, eq, compress...etc. I think this recording sounds very raw, the main reason for this is that the vocals have no effect or anyhting on them. The guitars were mic'd with senneheiser's and the I took a direct out from the bass and vocals. I ran the master out of my session kit and mixed everything down and sent it into my pc.
    any suggestions guys??
    I'd love to know about some other good free/inexpensive software that could help.
    Also, If I stepped up to a 32 bit soundcard would it make a tremendous difference from my 16 bit?
    -drumlogic www.streamload.com
    user name:drumlogic
    password:animal
    This is my punk/rock/metal/funk/a litte of everything band called "Positive Logic"
    hence the name drumlogic.
    -Drumlogic, V-session, Visulite/roland cymbals, (2)Mackie srm-450's, bbe 482 sonic maximizer,

Listening at low volume...

Not bad for a live recording...Your guitarist has a noise problem that you should have him take care of. Sounds like either a ground hum (try a ground lift) or that he may need to use a different pickup combination if he's got single coils (like a Fender Strat or Telecaster)...positions 2 or 4 will help with this...flourescent lights and computer monitors will cause this problem.

You guys like the word sh*t, don't you. Not my style of music at all, but like I said...not bad for a live recording.