Welcome! If this is your first visit, you will need to register to participate.

DO NOT use symbols in usernames. Doing so will result in an inability to sign in & post!

If you cannot sign in or post, please visit our Forum Talk section for answers to frequently asked questions.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

FD-7 and midi programing? Newbie questions

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• FD-7 and midi programing? Newbie questions

Hi! I've been recording drum patterns with Cubase for about 10 years now, trying to make them sound as "realistic" as possible (quite sucessfully actually). I've especially found that hi-hats are hard to simulate in a satisfactory way, so here's the question:

When using a V-drum sound module with a sequenser, can I record changes made to the sound with the FD-7?

What kind of midi data does it send? Velocity? Would a recorded drum pattern using a FD-7 affect external sound samples (if multisampled that is, low velocity = cl hat, medium velocity = half closed hat, hi velocity = open hat)?

If so, would you recommend a SPD-20 + FD-7 as a low budget "V-drum kit" for midi recording? (using both SPD-20 sounds and external sampler sounds)

Thanks!
    /Martin

The module transmits Control Change 4 messages for the FD7.
    Regarding your sampler question , search the forums using "Gigastudio" for some discussions that might help.

[This message has been edited by e-drummer (edited March 09, 2001).]

Comment

[QUOTE]Originally posted by e-drummer:
      >The module transmits Control Change 4 >messages for the FD7.

Thanks. In a home studio environment, as in my case, does this mean I could use any physical midi controller instead of the FD7?

>Regarding your sampler question , search the >forums using "Gigastudio" for some >discussions that might help.