Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Mimic Pro - Bass drum is really loud and has massive low end that is overpowering

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Mimic Pro - Bass drum is really loud and has massive low end that is overpowering

Hi guys,

so I was recording on my mimic pro, straight to usb stick everything sounded fine through the headphones. Went to play it back on my PC and the bass drum sound is overpowering, way louder than anything else and really bottom heavy so it booms. What am I doing wrong, I'm a complete novice at this so know nothing about recording. I've tried turning my kick down on the sliders but it doesnt help, I've tried turning the kick down on the recording sliders but that doesnt really help.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

I cut the sustain on the direct mics in the bass drum. You may have a bass boost on your playback system. I would try to listen on other systems to compare.

Comment

Originally posted by Amishd00d View Post
      Hi guys,

so I was recording on my mimic pro, straight to usb stick everything sounded fine through the headphones. Went to play it back on my PC and the bass drum sound is overpowering, way louder than anything else and really bottom heavy so it booms. What am I doing wrong, I'm a complete novice at this so know nothing about recording. I've tried turning my kick down on the sliders but it doesnt help, I've tried turning the kick down on the recording sliders but that doesnt really help.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.
      It's because you are listening to 2 sources headphone and speaker are different source to start. You need to learn each headphone are different, some boost bass, some lack of bass, some lack of high, some too much high. You need headphone that are more monitor style to avoid radical sound shift with others source like the ATH M50X.

Also on your PC you need proper monitor speaker to avoid from above.