Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• TD 50 and multi-track recording to Reaper DAW

Thanks for letting me join this forum.

I am a long-time drummer and brand new to recording myself as usually in a studio with a pro. I have a TD 50, Mac and downloaded Reaper DAW. I downloaded the Roland USB driver and have the kit and computer talking. I loaded a track a guitar player sent ma and now am able to record the drums on a single track in Reaper.

Questions:
    * I cannot hear the drum track on play back even though I see the meters going wild where the drums recorded.
    * How do I assign a track for each drum feed like kick, snare, toms, etc.? Would like to gain greater control of the mix.
    * Is Reaper the right DAW for a beginner? I tried GarageBand and gave up quickly...

I am willing to pay for someone to tutor me as I would like to get back to focusing on playing and make the engineering piece as simple as possible.

BIG Thanks in advance

Hi. I'm not going to answer all your questions as I don't have a TD-50, but I might help a bit.

Reaper is a great DAW. I've used it for years, and I wouldn't go back. I'd expect it to do everything you need.

I have a TM-6 Pro, and it may work in a similar way to the TD-50.

When I record USB audio, I have to set the Audio (in Preferences) to use the Roland driver, rather than ASIO as normal. I also have to set the USB audio driver on the module to Roland instead of Generic.

In the same Reaper Audio window, I set the inputs to be used. The TM-6 Pro has 2 Master outs and 4 Direct outs, so I select them all to be active. I also select the outputs as the module Phones L-R so I can monitor everything using the module headphones jack while playing.