Recording My Ipod With The TD11KV

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Recording My Ipod With The TD11KV

First let me say I UTFSE and I'm even more confused than ever. I'm a simple drummer...not very tech savvy. Also I'm really just a hobby drummer...I'm not looking to record a band. I just want to be able to record my performances with the drumless music I've purchased and downloaded to my ipod.

My equipment is as follows: Roland TD11-KV melded with a Yamaha DTXpress drum kit both of which are connected to my Mackie 5-channel mixer. I also have a Berhinger AMP800 headphone amp. I have them connected like this. Yamaha goes from mono (L) output into the mixer an channel one, The Roland goes from stereo outs (R&L) into the mixer on channels 2&3, my ipod is connected to the mixer on channels 4&5. The main outs from the mixer go to my Simmons DA200s amp. I go from the headphone jack on the mixer into the headphone amp and plug my ATH-m50x cans into that. The reason I use the headphone amp is because sometimes my wife or kids want to sit down and listen to the music while I'm playing and I don't have to crank up the amp to overcome the tippity-tap of the sticks on the pads.

I do not have a computer or laptop...just an old ipad that I use for surfing the net at home. I know I need to buy some equipment to accomplish what I want to do and I'm willing to throw a little money into it but I need some help in my choices. I'd like to keep it as economical as possible but I don't want to buy junk either. As far as a lap top...Windows or Mac? Will I need a DAW? If yes what's is the easiest one for a non-computer savvy guy to understand and operate. Last but not least...what is the easiest way to hook all this stuff up?

I really appreciate any and all input...

Simplest? Tape outputs on the mixer plugged into an iRig 2 plugged in to the iPad. http://www.ikmultimedia.com/products/irig2/