SPD30 Wishlist for next version....

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• SPD30 Wishlist for next version....

I've been using my SPD30 for my job for the last 2 years (professional accompanist for dance classes in 2 different schools/adult classes) and here is my wish list of things that I feel it needs for its next incarnation..
    1. Better and more varied melodic sounds. Pianos, strings, guitars etc. I feel it needs some high quality GM soundset injections!! The drum/percussion sounds on it are great but it falls down really badly on its other instruments (the piano sucks eggs for example. No guitar sounds at all, strings are horrible except for Double Bass sound.. )
    2. Tap tempo function - the ability to start pre-recorded sequences at different tempi at the touch of a button is sadly lacking. When someone else is responsible for setting the tempo (in my case, the dance teachers) but it could be the guitarist or vocalist, or just a wish to vary it gig by gig based on your mood/vibe.
    3. Record MIDI in from external sequencers. I tried recording some grooves into Cubase (much easier for editing purposes) and then linking up the SPD30 via MIDI clock to record them in for use live, but it wouldn't record them in(!). Seems like a silly oversight to me in this day and age of technology. I do it with other hardware no problem regularly.
    4. Changing the effect type linked to the kit via the FX CTRL button. I can alter the amount of FX with this right now, but I have to go in to the Menu and change the FX manually to something else, and then it's there until I change it back (i.e. it's normally a reverb and I want to change it to a delay/echo temporarily).
    5. Assignable click to headphone only output. I've seen many others ask for this option as well.