Welcome! If this is your first visit, you will need to register to participate.

DO NOT use symbols in usernames. Doing so will result in an inability to sign in & post!

If you cannot sign in or post, please visit our Forum Talk section for answers to frequently asked questions.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

DAW/VST on a budget?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• DAW/VST on a budget?

Any suggestions on what I should purchase for a DAW/VST without breaking the bank? I have macosx snow leopard, 2GB memory. Can;t upgrade with the mac. So Garage Band is probably not an option for a DAW.

I could buy another used mac which is still up there in price.

Maybe a PC is better choice and cheaper?

Yamaha Absolute Birch;Yamaha Oak Custom
    Paiste Cymbals; Zildjian Hybrid Cymbals
    DIY vdrums

Reaper is free and a pretty light weight DAW. I have been using it for a few years on both my PC and mac. It will work on 2gb. as far as VST I don't know what would be the cheapest. Most of them will work for you but you won't be able to run ALL of the effects in real time as they use up a good amount of memory. I love BFD3. but its not the cheapest.

Comment

Originally posted by scottyp View Post
      Reaper is free and a pretty light weight DAW. I have been using it for a few years on both my PC and mac. It will work on 2gb. as far as VST I don't know what would be the cheapest. Most of them will work for you but you won't be able to run ALL of the effects in real time as they use up a good amount of memory. I love BFD3. but its not the cheapest.
      what about dealing with zero latency. what device should be used?
      DIY vdrums

Comment

Originally posted by ronyd View Post
        what about dealing with zero latency. what device should be used?

A good audio-interface with good, stable, quality drivers.
        Greetings from Switzerland,
        - Dänoh