Welcome! If this is your first visit, you will need to register to participate.

DO NOT use symbols in usernames. Doing so will result in an inability to sign in & post!

If you cannot sign in or post, please visit our Forum Talk section for answers to frequently asked questions.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

State of the art e-hats vs a-hats

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• State of the art e-hats vs a-hats

Seemed like a fun topic to do, since I have been doing a lot of reading on this lately.

My background is an e-drummer only, started on an FD-7, then got an FD-8, then a VH-11, then started reading about acoustic hats over at drummerworld.

The difference between acoustic hats and how they can be used vs what Roland gives us (even on the TD-30) is enough that it seemed worth starting a thread about it, just so a public record of where we are is available.

I'll start with what I think I know and people who know more can chime in or correct me. I only know modules thus far, no VST's for me yet.

First lets try to concisely list the nearly unlimited things you can do with an acoustic hat:

- basic open/closed, what beginning drummers do. FD-7/8 can do this fine.
    - partially open, and subtle nuances of open positions, both module and pedal dependant, e-hats are close, not as easy as an a-hat, but getting there.
    - the force used to close the hat affects the sustian and the sound, only the VH-12 does this. This is akin to aftertouch or pressure sensitivity. On a VH-12, if you hold it closed tightly it will produce a tighter sound that if you hold it closed gently. On all other controller, closed is simply closed, there is no sensitivity to pressure.
    - the speed of the close on a foot chick affects the sound. e-drums pretty much do this fine.
    - foot splashes - e-drums generally support this feature, complaints they are harder to achieve in the e-kit world are common.