Welcome! If this is your first visit, you will need to register to participate.

DO NOT use symbols in usernames. Doing so will result in an inability to sign in & post!

If you cannot sign in or post, please visit our vBulletin Talk section for answers to vBulletin related FAQs.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Newbie needs some advise and questions answered

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Newbie needs some advise and questions answered

Hi everyone,

I've been playing drums for 18 years, but have never had an electric set. I am very interested in getting an electric set for 2 reasons: 1) to practices at home (quietly) & 2) to use at gigs where my full acoustic set won't fit.

The set I'm most interested in right now is the Vdrum Stage Set. I'm also considering the Session kit, but think it's probably at little to big for reason #2 above and it's a little on the expensive side.

My first question has to do with the v-cymbals that come with the Stage set. I notice that it comes with (2) 12" cymbals and want to know if, for example, I can do the following: program the cymbal on the right side to sound like a 20" ride when striking the surface and like a 16" crash with striking the edge? Also, will the bell of the cymbal sound like the bell on a ride cymbal. Can these 3 effects be produced on one cymbal? I would want to use that right cymbal as a full ride and a crash.

Next question: Will the kick pad accomodate a double kick pedal like the Pearl Eliminator double pedal? If so, does a double kick pedal play well on this type of set?

Last question: I know that with the hi-hat foot pedal you can have the hi-hat opened or closed? Can you produce hi-hat effects in-between open and closed - like a slightly open hi-hat effect?

Also, if someone could tell me the major advantages the Session kit has over the Stage kit that would be great too.