Announcement

Collapse

Lounge Posting Guidelines

E-DRUMMING DISCUSSION ONLY! DO NOT POST PRODUCT OR TECHNICAL QUESTIONS!

Having issues? Please visit our Forum Talk section for answers to frequently asked questions.

See more
See less

Am I bad?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Am I bad?

I have been playing for around 15 years and although i think i am a fairly good drummer i have no clue when other drummers talk of the technical side of drumming. You see i have had no formal training and therfore know nothing of triplets, 4-4, 3-4 or anything like this and frankly it makes me feel slightly stupid. The funny thing is i just listen to a track a few times and i can play it but i feel i need to learn the more rudimentry side of drumming. Does anyone know of a decent online tutor that i can learn from to understand these. I just watched some Jonny Rabb vids and he made me feel like an amateur.....HELP!!

Darren,

It's a good thing to know the "language" of drumming, especially if you are going to play with other musicians. You would indeed get strange looks if they said, "OK, this is in 6/8" and you come in with 4/4.

The best suggestion I can make is Google it. There are more drum tutorial sites out there than you can shake a stick at. Obviously Johny Rabb is for later. You need to start with the 13 essential rudiments, basic time signatures, and basic types of beats (rock, shuffle, samba, polka, waltz, etc.). It may be a little tedious at first, but you do need to be conversant in the lexicon not only of drumming, but of music in general to be taken seriously by other musicians.
    Id rather be told the ugly truth than handed a pretty lie.

Comment

One book:

Understanding Rhythm by Michael Lauren. This will help A LOT.

Please trust me on this.
      TD-6V, TD-3, KD-8, PD-85BK (snare), PD-8 (T1, T2, T3), CY-8 (Crash 1-2, Ride), FD-8/CY-5 (Hi-Hat).

Comment

Ooooooh, You is BAAADDD, man !

Comment