Announcement

Collapse

Lounge Posting Guidelines

E-DRUMMING DISCUSSION ONLY! DO NOT POST PRODUCT OR TECHNICAL QUESTIONS!

Having issues? Please visit our Forum Talk section for answers to frequently asked questions.

See more
See less

Drum Throne Positioning?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Drum Throne Positioning?

I'm fairly new to drumming. I want to know how I should position my Throne(seat) for proper high hat and kick drum use.

I'm 6'4 someone said I should have the bend at my knees perfectly flat(not high or low...flat) that still seems a little straining.

How is yours set? does it matter? should I just postition it for comfort or playability

There's no rule.

I just noticed that my drum throne is about the same height as the chair in my office (not that I am posting from work or anything...). Maybe a couple of inches higher than the chairs at my dining room table.

Experiment--try to find a height that is comfortable and ecourages good posture. Avoid slouching, stretching, straining and any unnecessary tension in your arms, wrists, legs, ankles back--well anywhere.

Look at where your pedals are positioned in relation to your throne too. It's not a bad idea to start with a bass drum, hi hat and throne. Get these components in a comfortable position and build your kit up from there.
    Check out my music: http://www.myspace.com/kellypaletta

Comment

Originally posted by klp :
      It's not a bad idea to start with a bass drum, hi hat and throne. Get these components in a comfortable position and build your kit up from there.
      KLP, that is XLNT advice! You a right on target. Also, mark those positions on your pad/carpet for future reference (gigs, etc.).

----
      -~

Comment

There is a rule: for a proper blood circulation and use of muscles the thigh and paw (are these the correct English words for upper and lower leg?) should be in a 90 degree angle. So: never sit too high or too low.