Welcome! If this is your first visit, you will need to register to participate.

DO NOT use symbols in usernames. Doing so will result in an inability to sign in & post!

If you cannot sign in or post, please visit our vBulletin Talk section for answers to vBulletin related FAQs.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Help! I'm a creep!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help! I'm a creep!

I'm a new drummer in training and trying to tackle a complete 'first' song to master. I have settled on one that seems simple to learn and yet won't drive me nuts playing over and over again. The song is "Creep" by Radiohead and I'm struggling with something that seem so simple it's getting very frustrating. Check out the bass drum note circled below to find my thorn of the moment.

For the life of me I can't get this 16th note hit down with the bass and it's driving me nuts. Any tips or tricks in getting this locked in with a single pedal? Any suggestions you have in helping me get this locked down is appreciated as it's been a frustrating couple of days trying to incorporate it.
    "...regardless of what you play, the biggest thing is keeping the feel going ..." - Wes Montgomery

Count it 1-e-&-a etc. like it show in the tab. Then play it slow. Pay attention that the kick is right in the middle of two hi-hat strokes. Playing between hi-hat beats can throw you off, but practice and it clicks.
    sigpic

Comment

Hey Mako,

Are you playing along with the song, or just trying to do it from the sheet music alone? I'm no teacher, but I would think it should be pretty easy to pick up the beat while playing along, especially if you play it though something like audacity where you can slow it down if necessary in order to really get a feel for it.