Welcome! If this is your first visit, you will need to register to participate.

DO NOT use symbols in usernames. Doing so will result in an inability to sign in & post!

If you cannot sign in or post, please visit our vBulletin Talk section for answers to vBulletin related FAQs.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Should Roland or Yamaha make kits for RockBand and/or Guitar Hero World Tour?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Should Roland or Yamaha make kits for RockBand and/or Guitar Hero World Tour?

I must admit that I was a long-lost drummer that returned to the sticks thanks to RockBand. The game sparked a flame that had long been extinguished within me. After a couple of weeks of playing the game, I bought a Roland set.

With all the drumming interest that RockBand and the upcoming Guitar Hero World Tour has generated, I am puzzled why Roland or Yamaha haven't attempted to enter into this market. Sure, royalites would have to be paid; however, I think there is a large consumer base that could generate some serious revenue. Think about it... do a search on youtube and you will find a lot of people hacking systems on both sides of the fence. On one side of the fence, people are hacking the toy kits so they can be used as edrums on the computer via USB. On the other side of the fence, people are using control boards to convert the midi signals from real edrum kits to play on the game.