Announcement

Collapse

Lounge Posting Guidelines

E-DRUMMING DISCUSSION ONLY! DO NOT POST PRODUCT OR TECHNICAL QUESTIONS!

Having issues? Please visit our Forum Talk section for answers to frequently asked questions.

See more
See less

Bitten by the V-Drum Curse

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Bitten by the V-Drum Curse

I've been a drummer for about 25 years now. I don't want to go on and on about all my past accomplishments, but suffice it to say I've had the pleasure of sitting behind some pretty heavy-hitters in my day. I'm not accustomed to having to look real hard for work. That is,...before I was stricken by "The Curse".

I can still recall that fateful day when I walked into Tower Music in St. Louis back in '98' and saw, for the first time, my destiny......The Roland V-Pro kit. Like many of you, it was love at first sight.

Sometime thereafter, I relocated to a vast musical wasteland devoid of any culture or taste, commonly known as West-Central Illinois. I'll reserve any further comments pertaining to this area for the sake of those who may harbor some kind of twisted affection for this locality. It was here, that I finally bought those beautiful V-Pros may heart had been pining over for so long.

Since that purchase, I've added an additonal PD-100, 3 V-crashes, a V-ride, a V-hi-hat, a double bass pedal, a triggered acoustic bass drum, an SPD-6, up-graded my TD-10, Hell...., I even added a Roland XP-60 to my rack. It's truly beautiful, guys.

Recently, I decided it was time to come out of a short-termed retirement and see about getting a return on this investment (around $7500, do the math). So I began going to "open-mic" sessions in the area looking for potential work in some local band needing a seasoned drummer.