Welcome! If this is your first visit, you will need to register to participate.

DO NOT use symbols in usernames. Doing so will result in an inability to sign in & post!

If you cannot sign in or post, please visit our vBulletin Talk section for answers to vBulletin related FAQs.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Studio Set discontinued?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Studio Set discontinued?

Hi everyone, this is my first post. I'm in the market (I think) for e-drums, and I noticed the other day in a major music retailer a Studio Set for $1400.00 (new). This made me wonder if Roland was discontinuing the set? I was planning on the V-Club, but for that price it seems the Studio Set is the way to go.

By the way (and this is why I "think" I'm in the market), I'm actually a guitarist. I have a home studio, and I've been programming drum machines for years (Alesis HR16 and Zoom RT-123) and I'm sick of it. I can play the drums, so I thought I'd get an electronic kit vs. and acoustic Kit and a bunch of mics (not to mention "keeping considerate playing hours"). I figure an electronic kit will allow me to go direct into the board, and play at 2:00am as well. But my concern is the quality of acoustic samples...I've been happy with the sounds from my Alesis machine (and the Zoom too), and I want to make sure the Roland sounds are at least as good (especially the cymbals). I have nothing to worry about, right? Any samples of Rolands V-Drums I can listen to (preferably solo)? TIA,

-Mark

EDIT: Forget the samples question, I found 'em!

[This message has been edited by m_s_w (edited January 30, 2002).]

Originally posted by c. jude:
    If there is anything that you just love in your HR-16 or Zoom, you could always trigger those sounds too (via midi)