Announcement

Collapse

Lounge Posting Guidelines

E-DRUMMING DISCUSSION ONLY! DO NOT POST PRODUCT OR TECHNICAL QUESTIONS!

Having issues? Please visit our Forum Talk section for answers to frequently asked questions.

See more
See less

Studio Set discontinued?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Studio Set discontinued?

Hi everyone, this is my first post. I'm in the market (I think) for e-drums, and I noticed the other day in a major music retailer a Studio Set for $1400.00 (new). This made me wonder if Roland was discontinuing the set? I was planning on the V-Club, but for that price it seems the Studio Set is the way to go.

By the way (and this is why I "think" I'm in the market), I'm actually a guitarist. I have a home studio, and I've been programming drum machines for years (Alesis HR16 and Zoom RT-123) and I'm sick of it. I can play the drums, so I thought I'd get an electronic kit vs. and acoustic Kit and a bunch of mics (not to mention "keeping considerate playing hours"). I figure an electronic kit will allow me to go direct into the board, and play at 2:00am as well. But my concern is the quality of acoustic samples...I've been happy with the sounds from my Alesis machine (and the Zoom too), and I want to make sure the Roland sounds are at least as good (especially the cymbals). I have nothing to worry about, right? Any samples of Rolands V-Drums I can listen to (preferably solo)? TIA,

-Mark

EDIT: Forget the samples question, I found 'em!

[This message has been edited by m_s_w (edited January 30, 2002).]

Originally posted by c. jude:
    If there is anything that you just love in your HR-16 or Zoom, you could always trigger those sounds too (via midi)