Welcome! If this is your first visit, you will need to register to participate.

DO NOT use symbols in usernames. Doing so will result in an inability to sign in & post!

If you cannot sign in or post, please visit our Forum Talk section for answers to frequently asked questions.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

So where is our Paganini?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• So where is our Paganini?

...our Steve Vai, Miles Davis, Art Tatum?

I am an accomplished drummer (25+ years on acoustics) who has recently entered the e-drum world. Here are a few e-drum performances that have excited me in the past:

Bill Bruford providing melodic and harmonic content from the drumset with King Crimson and Earthworks.

Peter Erskine playing a "steel drum" tune on e-drums via velocity switching.

Norm Weinberg and the U of Arizona electronic percussion ensemble.

Most of these performances took advantage of technology that has been around for years now (simmons drums, Kat multi-pad units).

V-Drums arrived on the scene a few years ago and now e-drums are ubiquitous but I haven't heard many examples of people "pushing the envelope" with the latest technology. I know Omar Hakim plays them with Madonna but I haven't heard much detail about how he is using v-drums. The articles that I have read don't go into much detail about specifically what he is playing.

Where should I be looking? Who are the the e-drum avant garde? Are there any great e-drum recordings that I should seek? Any great instructional material that I should be aware of (books, video, etc)?

Check out my music: http://www.myspace.com/kellypaletta

Adrian Belew plays Vdrums on a ProjeKCT 2 Album called Space Groove. Every Vdrum owner should get this cd if you want to hear the vdrums doing cool electronic stuff.

Comment

Originally posted by klp:
      ...I am an accomplished drummer (25+ years on acoustics) who has recently entered the e-drum world.