Welcome! If this is your first visit, you will need to register to participate.

DO NOT use symbols in usernames. Doing so will result in an inability to sign in & post!

If you cannot sign in or post, please visit our Forum Talk section for answers to frequently asked questions.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Single Strokes

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Single Strokes

Hello,

I am still a beginning drummer (the V's are my first drumset, purchased about 8 months ago) and I am determined to master the single stroke roll. I realize that good single stroke technique is key to learning the rest of the rudiments so I am concentrating on this first and foremost (my double strokes are fairly solid by now -- they came much easier than single strokes). I know exactly what my problem is. My left hand cannot "dribble" the stick like the right hand, using fingers only. The muscles are not developed enough and I can't seem to get them to that point. So my question is what exercises can I do to develop speed with the left hand, besides practicing on a pillow/rug which I have been doing for a while. Perhaps I am overlooking some technique -- I notice while practicing the "dribble" that my left hand tends to loose its grip and rotate much more than the right and eventually I have to choke back on the stick. This is obviously not good. Also it seems difficult to keep the stick parallel to my thumb, which comes naturally on my right hand. I have tried bigger sticks, and even started using the mouse with my left hand for 100% of my computer use. (This BTW is a great solution if you have pains or carpal tunnel using the mouse with your right hand like me.) But still I cannot build up the muscle strength and memory on my left hand. So if you struggled with your single stroke roll like me, please offer your experience!

Thanks!

BTW I realize that mesh heads are not ideal to learn rudiments on, so I intend to get a nice practice pad as well.