Announcement

Collapse

Lounge Posting Guidelines

This forum is for general e-drumming discussion only! Do not ask product/advice/technical questions. Topics posted incorrectly will be deleted.
See more
See less

Hi there, I'm in the quest of a realistic E-Drum setup

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hi there, I'm in the quest of a realistic E-Drum setup

Hello everybody and happy new year !

Vincent, I'm a novice french drummer, I play for about a bit less than 2 years. I started with a TD11K with the addition of a VH-11, not too bad for a start.

When I started to play in band and take lessons, I had to switch to acoustic drums and play the "real stuff". One year after I already had 5 different acoustic kit Stick Out Tongue ! I play now both on a Tama Starclassic B/B 10 12 14 16 22 hyperdrive in dark cherry fade from 2013 and a Tama Artstar II piano black 10 12 13 16 22 from 1986. I also have a little weak point for snares, and particularly for old Tama's. I have some sweet ones like 1982 AW458 14"x8" birch superstar, 1980 8856 Mastercraft steel 14"x6.5", 1974 Imperialstar 14"x5", and so on, I love them !

My TD11 was a bit unattended for a while, even if I upgraded it with 3 PDX-8 mesh pads and a custom 12" snare with RT-30HR trigger and powerply mesh ... I barely use it for repetitions, and I don't like to play on it, it's a toy and I find the VH11 hi-hats is awfull

Some months ago, I decided to isolate my garage in order to practice more often, and to record for the needs of my band. It works fine from inside of the house, so my wife will not divorce from me ^^, but not so great with neighbors, because of the garage's door that is difficult to isolate like the normal walls (6.3" of glasswool and acoustic cork !).

As I don't want to annoy my neighborhood anymore, I started to think to get back to electronic world, but as I also don't want to stop the joy of acoustic drums, I'm currently searching for the best solutions to mix both world.