What to do with TD-4SX after getting the TD-17KVX

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What to do with TD-4SX after getting the TD-17KVX

I am new to drumming. I bought a TD-4SX (really really cheap) a couple of years ago and have learned a little bit through YouTube videos. I'm a singer and guitar player. I record and thought how cool it would be to play drums on one of my tracks. Not sure why I'm so drawn to drums, as I'm not that good. Anyway, so I recently had the opportunity to trade a couple of my guitars for a TD-17KVX set. Very excited to have this new set. This kit should last me the rest of my life, or by the time it stops working, I'll be too old to play it anyway.

I was planning to sell the TD-4SX, but I've seen people put sets together to expand their existing set. Considering that I'm new to drumming and don't know what I would use an extra crash or extra tom for I thought I should just sell the TD-4SX. I figure the TD-17KVX should be enough for me for a long while, but then I started thinking that maybe I'll get better and want an extra crash or more toms, I don't know.

So what should I do?
    Roland TD-17KVX ~ PercussionPlus 900H Hi-Hat Stand ~ Mapex P600 Kick Pedal ~ DW 5000 Tractor Throne

sell TD-4 rack, KD-8, FD-8 and two PDX-6, keep TD-4 module, CY-5, CY-8s and two PDX-8 if you want to add more crash/splash/ride/toms/snare ...

Comment

Someone offered this option
      • Sell the TD-4SX (with kick pedal, crown)
      • Sell one of the TD-17's PDX-8 pads
      • Buy a PDX-12 for ($200) to replace the PDX-8 as the floor tom.
      • Make the current ride cymbal a 3rd Crash.
      • Buy Roland CY15R ride ($360) cymbal arm ($85) + arm clamp ($13)

Cost $658 - proceeds from sale of TD-4SX and PDX-8
      Last edited by dragonfly66; 08-31-18, 12:47 PM.
      Roland TD-17KVX ~ PercussionPlus 900H Hi-Hat Stand ~ Mapex P600 Kick Pedal ~ DW 5000 Tractor Throne

Comment