Announcement

Collapse

Lounge Posting Guidelines

E-DRUMMING DISCUSSION ONLY! DO NOT POST PRODUCT OR TECHNICAL QUESTIONS!
See more
See less

Please help me choose a Beginner's Electronic Drum Set

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Please help me choose a Beginner's Electronic Drum Set

Hello

As an absolute beginner, I'm looking to buy an Electronic Drum Set. The most important attributes I'm looking for are quality, durability, and most importantly - compact size (as I don't have too much room).

I live in Israel, so I am forced to buy from Local shops where the prices are considerably higher than, say, the U.S., so don't be surprised by the prices.

For now I've narrowed down my list to 5 possible options, and I'd like to hear your insights about them:

--------

1. Alesis DM Lite - Costs $500 here - It's the cheapest option, and a very compact one at that. However, it looks kinda toy-like and, from what I've read, is mainly oriented to kids. It also doesn't seem durable and I honestly wouldn't want my set breaking down on me within 2 months of use.

2. Behringer XD8USB - Costs $620 here - It looks better than the Alesis DM Lite, but I've read mixed reviews about it. Not sure how it compares to Roland/Yamaha/Alesis quality-wise, and I'm also not sure about its size.

3. Alesis Nitro Kit - Costs $700 here - It's got great reviews and it seems to be the ultimate beginner's kit. However it's also the heaviest and biggest of my options as far as I can see, so it might be somewhat of a pain to move it around. Also, at $700, it looks rather overpriced compared to the next options:

4. Yamaha DTX400K - Costs $730, only $30 more than the Alesis Nitro Kit, however I assume it's a step up quality-wise? Not sure how it compares to the Roland TD-1K (which we'll get to in a minute), but it seems a little bigger. Other than that it looks like a close call.