Welcome! If this is your first visit, you will need to register to participate.

DO NOT use symbols in usernames. Doing so will result in an inability to sign in & post!

If you cannot sign in or post, please visit our Forum Talk section for answers to frequently asked questions.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Advice on buying pads, cymbals, and module

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Advice on buying pads, cymbals, and module

Greetings,

New to the site. I just got my tax return and it's time to upgrade from the DIY remopad triggers and Alesis D4 that I've been using since 1998.

I'm looking to spend about $1000 and to buy used pieces.

I'm leaning towards a Megadrum module, primarily because I want to use plugins on my Macbook Pro for sounds. But I'm not opposed to other modules.

I'm just looking to put together a simple 4 piece kit w/ hi-hat, ride, crash. I want it to be as portable as possible, so not really looking for the "big as an acoustic drum" type pads.

I think the PD 120/125 type pads would work fine. Haven't decided on which cymbals yet, I guess the best ones I can afford.

I just really want to be able to have as much control/flexibility as possible (ie: zones and positional sensing).

There seems to be a really good resource on Wikipedia listing all the Roland pads, cymbals, and modules.

-Glenn

If you want PS, besides the MegaDrum module, you will need to spend almost all your budget on the module, if you go the Roland route.

If I had a $1,000 and wanting to go VSTs only, I think I would go with the MegaDrum, and onHeads for pads. Yamaha cymbals. That'd be really portable, and would trigger reliably.

I'm just not sure if the FSR in the onHeads provide PS with the MegaDrum. Maybe having a look at their forum to confirm.
    DTX700, eDRUMin 4+10, A2E Dixon kit, Yamaha cymbals, FSR HH
    Kit Pix http://vdrums.com/forum/album.php?albumid=613

My new venture, HiEnd Speakers. : voglosounds.com

Comment