Announcement

Collapse

Technique Posting Guidelines

PLAYING TECHNIQUE DISCUSSION ONLY! DO NOT POST TECHNICAL QUESTIONS!
See more
See less

Back To Lessons Again On Monday, With.....

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Back To Lessons Again On Monday, With.....

So I'm starting back to lessons on Monday. I studied all of 2009 with a drummer in my area Dave Berger on technique and rudiments and stuff. Woodshedded for that whole year doing 4-5 hours a day of just book work and technique work. Learned a lot from him but I'm stepping it up now.

Starting lessons with Ted Mackenzie www.tedmackenzie.com

I'm super excited as he's a monster on technique, and an amazing drummer, clinician. He re-authored one of the top selling snare drum/rudiment books in the world, and has studied directly under Jim Chapin & Henry Adler. So I'm going to be building up warm-up regimines, efficiency, speed, dynamics, rudiments around the kit, etc.

I'm very modest in my playing, but I know I'm a good drummer now, with pretty solid technique; but always looking to learn/grow more. I'll be doing the Drum Off through Guitar Center in 2011 and want to study with Ted for at least a couple years to really get on the ball with everything and get more up to snuff in how I want to be playing. Check out his website, videos, books and stuff, he's a really good guy.
    Check out my NEW eBay Store: V-Drum Emporium!

That dude is a beast. Think he's going to make you learn trad grip? I love that he mentions brushes as one of the corner-stones in his teaching.
    They constantly embrace music only to stifle it. They dissect it, unaware of their preliminary murder of it, and without understanding that the work they have pulled to pieces lacks only one thing, but the most important: life.

Comment

My last teacher also studied with Jim Chapin - he spoke very highly of Jim's skill and teaching methods so I expect you will get a lot from this guy too.

Comment