Announcement

Collapse

Technique Posting Guidelines

PLAYING TECHNIQUE DISCUSSION ONLY! DO NOT POST TECHNICAL QUESTIONS!

Having issues? Please visit our Forum Talk section for answers to frequently asked questions.

See more
See less

beater position between kicks

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• beater position between kicks

I was just watching an instructional video and the drummer was resting the beater on the skin of the kick drum between each stroke of the beat.

I was wondering if this is normal practice for most drummers or not. As a beginner I tend to have the beater held back from the kick drum between kicks

thanks

On an acoustic drum you can get a different sound by stopping the beater on the head or releasing it after the stroke. But on edrums it makes no difference to the sound ( although I think this is now possible with the tdw20 ) but to answer your question both ways are accepted playing techniques...
    My Kit
    http://www.vdrums.com/forum/attachme...2&d=1257067362

Comment

"Burying the beater" (forcing it hard into the drum and holding it there) is a bop and jazz technique for the most part. Resting the beater on the head is something that doesn't typically cause problems with acoustic drums, but can with edrums by causing unintended triggering. IMO, your best technique is to not rest the beater against the head.

BTW, the difference in sound with the TDW20 (and TD20) when burying the beater is a trick, caused by the typically higher velocity of a buried strike.
      Last edited by stickinthemud; 01-20-09, 11:53 PM.
      Id rather be told the ugly truth than handed a pretty lie.

Comment

thanks for the info

Comment

Originally posted by stickinthemud View Post
          Resting the beater on the head is something that doesn't typically cause problems with acoustic drums, but can with edrums by causing unintended triggering.