Announcement

Collapse

Technique Posting Guidelines

PLAYING TECHNIQUE DISCUSSION ONLY! DO NOT POST TECHNICAL QUESTIONS!

Having issues? Please visit our Forum Talk section for answers to frequently asked questions.

See more
See less

Newbie Grip Question

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Newbie Grip Question

I'm new to drumming & have a question about grips when practicing single/double stroke rolls, etc... When I go into doubles I find that I'm letting the stick bounce create the double taps vs. my wrist. Basically I am easing off on my grip and letting the index & thumb hold the stick & letting the rebound create most of the double/tripple hits. The reason I do this is because that seems a heck of a lot easer than holding the stick firmly & making my wrists do the work.

Is this right or should I let the wrist do more of the work? I ask because I don't want to develop a bad habit & because the problem I'm running into is that using the bounce makes it very difficult for me to control the number of hits (especially w/ my weak hand). Meaning, since I hold the stick very lightly I easily get 3 hits when I want 2 or vice-versa.
    My Gased Out TD9SX

sigpic

More pics at http://vdrums.com/forum/album.php?albumid=115

I would recommend a full grip (however, as loose as possible) with all your fingers wrapped around the stick. On double strokes (for instance), your first strike should naturally be with your wrist while the second strike should come from your last two fingers (pinky and ring fingers). Therefore, as the stick bounces up from your first hard strike the fingers should rebound the stick as if you are slapping your fingers to the inside of your palms.

Such as this:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LJWld...eature=related

Using your fingers will allow you to control the number of bounces desired for the roll.

Two things come to mind to watch for (these are very simple ways to tell if you are doing your doubles properly):