Welcome! If this is your first visit, you will need to register to participate.

DO NOT use symbols in usernames. Doing so will result in an inability to sign in & post!

If you cannot sign in or post, please visit our vBulletin Talk section for answers to vBulletin related FAQs.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Frustration

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Frustration

Hey, I'd like to get some feedback on something. I've been playing drumset for about 4 years, I'm pretty old to be starting out (I'm 47). For the first year and a half, I had a teacher but gave that up because it was expensive and I thought I could teach myself. This way, I'd also have no pressure to practice and get something perfect for my teacher. Also, my brother who plays guitar taught himself after the first 6 months of lessons, and he is an awesome guitarist.

I sometimes watch videos of drummers performing on Youtube, and I get blown away by all the talent. I feel like I'm not really getting better. I can play some grooves and some fills, but I'm just not happy with my development. I've purchased Jack Bennett's DVDs and hopefully they will help. I'm also seriously considering mikeslessons.com because I love his style of teaching on Youtube and he's an awesome drummer too. I also have tons of books/CDs and some other teaching DVDs. In fact, I may have too many!

My question is, what is the best way to get better at playing? My main weaknesses seem to be fills and solos. I don't seem to be able to do fast fills or to improvise. Any suggestions are greatly appreciated!

Peace,
    Alexis