Announcement

Collapse

Technique Posting Guidelines

PLAYING TECHNIQUE DISCUSSION ONLY! DO NOT POST TECHNICAL QUESTIONS!

Having issues? Please visit our Forum Talk section for answers to frequently asked questions.

See more
See less

Getting the Bonham Sound

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Getting the Bonham Sound

Hey,

I'm just getting started figuring out how to get certain sounds out of my TD-8. One that has been particularly vexing is the huge sound on several Zep tunes, including "Babe, I'm Gonna Leave You." The snare in particular seems elusive. I called Roland and have since tried increasing the reverb and playing around with the EQ, but it ain't quite there. Thoughts?

oooh, side question, did bonham ever record with his vistalites?
    td-6, pro-mark, remo, sabian, dw, tama rockstar.

Comment

Hate to rain on your parade but you're setting yourself up for disappointment. I don't think you want to assume your $800 box (or whatever a TD8 costs) is going to reproduce exactly what you hear on radio, CD's, etc. At a minimum you will need to invest on some outboard gear and then you will need to know what you are doing to properly utilize it. Good reverb, compression, etc.

The fact that you can even come close is something to be happy about - don't ruin a good experience with unrealistic expectations. I'm not saying you can't nail some of the sounds you are looking for - just be realistic.
      Kit Pic 1 Kit Pic 2 Kit Pic 3... And FOR SALE I have: 3 PD-9's, MDS-10 purple rack w/cables/pad and cym mounts. See classified posts for details or PM me.

Comment

I think JBRip! was an attempt at that. As I recall, there were similarities but I didn't save it. It's a TD-10 patch and FatTim has a TD-8. I don't know how similar the sounds are in the 10 vs 8 or if it would be any help to him.