Announcement

Collapse

Technique Posting Guidelines

PLAYING TECHNIQUE DISCUSSION ONLY! DO NOT POST TECHNICAL QUESTIONS!

Having issues? Please visit our Forum Talk section for answers to frequently asked questions.

See more
See less

Expanding your inputs.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Expanding your inputs.

I've been using a TD-8 for about 3 months now, and have been working on ways that expand my inputs.

My old setup was an Alesis D-4 with a Kat TrapKat, a few Yamaha cymbal pads, a couple of S&S pads (which I've now changed the heads from real heads to mesh heads), and a couple of LP Spikes (that I've had to rebuild).

Once I got the TD-8, I started using the TrapKat as well as the old pads, along with some new ones. I've found that the TrapKat works well with the TD-8. You can assign any sound that is assigned to one of the drums triggered through the TD-8 to any of the pads on the TrapKat, if you want multiple locations for cymbals, an extra bass drum, etc. Another great trick is that you can assign any non-used rim sounds to pads (on the TrapKat, and have full independent editing capability. This lets you tap into several more sounds that normally go unused.

Those of you that have used other modules know that Roland made some compromises on their kits, to beef up other areas of the design. In other modules, each note on a midi keyboard is assignable to any sound in the module. You could have 80 tom sounds on one kit if you wanted (I don't know why you would). Roland only allows twenty something sounds to be assigned to each kit (I forgot the actual number). All other midi notes are assigned to 10 "percussion sets". While 2 of these are editable, there are some limits. In addition, kits tend to default back to one of the non user sets.