Announcement

Collapse

Technique Posting Guidelines

PLAYING TECHNIQUE DISCUSSION ONLY! DO NOT POST TECHNICAL QUESTIONS!

Having issues? Please visit our Forum Talk section for answers to frequently asked questions.

See more
See less

My wrists hurt!!!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• My wrists hurt!!!

After playing with my band for about 2 hours my wrists start to hurt. and ache. I guess this is from the rubber cymbal pads on my V-custom. Anyone else have this problem? any suggestions? I guess it's back to real cymbals Cuz this is just too painful.

------------------
    Ostrich Hat
    www.ostrichhat.com

Jeff,

I have no suggestions, but a similar experience. I am a programmer and suffer from a mouse wrist. (is this the proper english for it?) It has affected my right arm, which happens to be the one used most in drumming. The good news is that the movements used playing the drums are different than using the mouse. The bad news is that I now have two types of ache in my wrist. I'm not sure how I'm going to handle this. I love my V's and don't want to use acoustic cymbals, because of the volume.

Rob

Comment

Originally posted by Pleiadian:
      I am a programmer and suffer from a mouse wrist. (is this the proper english for it?) It has affected my right arm, which happens to be the one used most in drumming. The bad news is that I now have two types of ache in my wrist.
      , Ouch! The condition is called Carpal Tunnel Syndrome, whereby the nerves routed through the wrist become enflamed to the extent that the inflamation can't subside. A common overuse/repetitive motion injury.