Announcement

Collapse

Technique Posting Guidelines

PLAYING TECHNIQUE DISCUSSION ONLY! DO NOT POST TECHNICAL QUESTIONS!

Having issues? Please visit our Forum Talk section for answers to frequently asked questions.

See more
See less

Numb fingers only when playing in the kit but not in the practice pad

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Numb fingers only when playing in the kit but not in the practice pad

Hi, all!

I've been playing drums for about 15 months now and in the past two months I've increased my practising time to about 2h per day. One of the exercises I've been doing is the one attached to this thread. I'm practising each exercise for 1min and then immediately going to the next one. I'm currently at 125bpm.

After about 6 or 7 minutes, my thumb, index, middle and ring from the right hand (hihat and ride) go numb. If I stop playing and rest it goes away pretty quickly. If I start playing again, it happens again (usually faster than the first time, in about 3 or 4 minutes).

The thing is: I don't feel this while practising in the practice pad. I usually practice all the first page from Stick Control for the Snare Drummer from George Lawrence Stone in the same way: 1 min per exercise and then go to the next one. I'm currently at 110bpm. I don't feel my fingers going numb when doing the stick control exercises. I do feel the burn in the arm sometimes, but no numbness. Maybe the hihat and ride transfer more energy to the fingers than the practice pad? I don't know...