I'm a drummer now. a really BAD drummer, but still

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I'm a drummer now. a really BAD drummer, but still

Figured I'd stop saying "I'm not really a drummer" in every post.

I sat down and went

boom boom boom boom

on the kick.

Then ticka-ticka-ticka-ticka on the high hat.

Then I did both of those at once. Wow!

Then I went

(rest)-whack-(rest)-whack on the snare.

Holy smokes I can now lay down a groove suitable for 80% of rock songs.

Then I tried to do something else and it all fell apart. But hey ya gotta start somewhere and I've been doing it for 5 or 10 minutes a day for several days in a row.

It's not very easy. Not sure about all the drummer jokes out there. Probably just jealousy.

Keep at it. It can only get better. Nothing like drums for pure physical energy. Great stress buster too.
    Roland TD30 module on TD20 kit SD3 with various kits. Pearl Masters Kit, Yamaha 9000RC original natural wood finish. Cymbals from Zildgian Pasite and Sabian. Loads of percussion bits. Cubase and Wavelab always current versions.

Comment

Hang in there, keep at it, don't get frustrated at the plateaus, set realistic expectations & goals, and never forget to have fun!
      Hardware: TD20SX --> Roland UA-25EX --> MSI GT780DX w/ i7 2670, 16-GB of Ram, Windows 7
      Software: Superior Drummer 2.0, Metal Foundry SDX, Metal Machine EZX, Toontrack Solo - - Sonor X1 Studio - -

Comment

I played for about 15 minutes over a 6/8 guitar loop I'd recorded. Fun! I think I can finally get some drum parts that match the guitar grooves this way. Impossible or at least very difficult using loops or standard MIDI beats. I also have a much better intuitive sense of where to put fills playing along with the tune even if they are really simple at the moment.

Comment