Heel up nitty gritty

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Heel up nitty gritty

I realize this has been covered approximately 7 billion times on the internet but the specific info I’m curious about is much rarer.

So I am very new to drumming as of a few weeks ago. Been working on heel up and am still not quite sure I have the FEEL of it right. What do I mean? I mean the specifics of what is supposed to happen on each stroke.

Near as I can tell, heel “floats” at anything more than quarter notes at very slow tempos (like 60bpm), can rest on back of footboard between strokes slower than that. Ball of foot stays in contact ideally at all times with board, and the “effort” is through the heel itself, even if the heel itself never touches the board. In other words, tap the heel, feel it through the heel, energy transfers to ball of foot which actually ends up moving the pedal. Basically like tapping your heel in time to music. This is as opposed to feeling it through the ball of the foot, pressing with the ball of the foot. Does that make sense and do I have it right? It feels more right, more relaxed, which is what all the drummer advice says (relaxed/no tension etc.)

The problem? When do this I often get double strokes...a regular powerful stroke followed by a much weaker accidental stroke from the rebound.

I can prevent it by actively holding back a little, lifting my leg slightly so that even when it falls it doesnt fully fall and relax, but now that’s basically a form of tension, right? actively holding my leg up a little and lifting the weight right after the stroke to prevent that rebound stroke. Maybe that’s the norm but seems like it’d be exhausting after a short time (I havent really tried to play anything through yet...still mostly screwing around at this).