Knee pain playing bass drum.

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Knee pain playing bass drum.

Hello fellow drummers from all around the world. I would like to seek some advice regarding the knee pain I'm currently experiencing right now. It might be a long post but please bear with me as I believe I need to elaborate my situation as crystal clear as possible.

I've started drumming since the beginning of this year (self-taught) on a electric drum kit going, picking up songs through youtube covers and online tabs. Recently, around 2-3 months ago, I've started experiencing pain (I would consider it minor as I can bear with it, nothing major to the point that I can't walk) on my right knee.

I've gotten myself a drum throne to elevate my seating position, which I thought was the initial cause to the pain. The pain went away for a while but came back again a little worse. The pain now comes when I drum, sometimes when I'm seating, walking or bending my knees.

The pain concentrates around the middle (inside the knee cap) and the especially the upper part of the knee (the tendon connecting the quad and the knee cap?). I play heels up and I'm not sure what's the reason behind pain in my knee. I do have a few deductions:

1) The impact from the beater to the bass tower is hurting my knee.
    2) The pedals I'm using may be the problem. It kinda swivels left and right.
    3) My technique on bass drum is wrong. Maybe I'm burying the beater too 'hard'. Or some other techniques which I don't know.
    4) The alignment of my tight, knee and foot is not right.
    5) There's something wrong with knee?

Honestly, I'm very much depressed now as I really don't know what to do. I really want to find out the cause and go see a doctor if the pain persists so I can continue drumming again. Also, I don't really want to see the doctor before know what may be the potential cause to the pain so I'm not just prescribed with some painkiller or anti-inflammatory medicine.