Ride cymbal position

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Ride cymbal position

Some drummers mount their ride cymbal quite low and to me it looks like an edge shot would be next to impossible.

As a starting drummer I understand that most ride strikes are on the edge and bell. Is the edge used that much?

Hey bcomer,

Im also a beginner, but I can cite what Im taught for you.

The ride is usually (not always) used to play steady rhytmic patterns called ride patterns, similar to the hi-hat and opposed to accents, for which crash cymbals are usually used. While you can crash a ride cymbal of course that is not its main purpose. That said the common stroke for the ride is the bow shot usually close to the middle of the bow and done with the tip. Most players prefer a clear sound with harmonic overtones, that is best achieved by mounting the ride as horizontal as possible.

Playing a ride pattern of course requires that the ride must be conveniently accessible for the right hand and so low that you dont get tired because you may have to do some hundred regular strokes. If you want to use open/close technique or play with rebound or play regular accents that also requires that the cymbal is not positioned too high.

So while you can do whatever accomodates your playing style and genre the regular player will position the ride cymbal on the right side, horizontally above the (a) floor tom and as low as possible.

If you want to crash the ride you can strike the edge with the shaft or shoulder or do a regular edge stroke by moving counter clockwise from the regular stroke position.

As I said: Im a beginner too, but that is what Im being taught.

kr

Timm

Comment

Just place the ride, and any other pad, where it is easy for you to reach and easy to strike where you want it. It's all about your anatomy, making it convenient for yourself, not about cool or non-cool looks ; -)