Welcome! If this is your first visit, you will need to register to participate.

DO NOT use symbols in usernames. Doing so will result in an inability to sign in & post!

If you cannot sign in or post, please visit our Forum Talk section for answers to frequently asked questions.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Dtx502 Crash "stuck in choke"

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Dtx502 Crash "stuck in choke"

I have 2 pcy 65 as crashes and a pcy 65s for my ride...My crash 1 (pcy65) will be fine for a few crashes and then it will be stuck in the cymbal choke sound until I switch kits. Then it will eventually get stuck in the choke sound again. Any ideas?? I've unhooked cables to no avail as well.

Seems like scrolling the kits is resetting the inputs. Need to isolate initial problem to input, cable, or cymbal.

Disclaimer: I have no experience directly with Yamaha stuff yet (getting a DTX502 soon though) but these would apply to any module. Power off the module while swapping cables and inputs, power up again after.

1. Test cables first by swapping cables, point to point entirely (Crash 1 still into usual Crash 1 input but using Crash 2's cable), and with Crash 2 still into usual Crash 2 input) and note if choke sound problem swaps cymbals. I.E. Hit on Crash #2 now generates choke sound problem.

No difference? Problem remains for Cymbal #1 alone when hit? Likely not a cable. Test inputs.

2. Now plug Cymbal 2 cable into input for Cymbal 1.

Power up again. Hit your Cymbal #2, the known working-well one. If no problem occurs problem is cymbal #1. Plugging Cymbal #1's output into original input for working Cymbal #2, and noting problem returning, confirms Cymbal #1 is problem…somewhere.

Since you have two cymbals you can isolate to input, cable, or cymbal in a logical fashion. Can do all tests with one, and pair of cables, but you are lucky to have working cymbal to compare to.